MTV Unplugged: “Hurt”

In the previous post I just finished, I included a link to the infamous Nine Inch Nails hit song, “Hurt” because it kind of goes with what I’m expressing. If you’ve ever listened to their music, vocalist Trent Reznor always delivers every lyric like it’s his last.

It certainly applies with Hurt. I used to do Video of Days. This is the music portion of the blog. I’ve always been a huge NIN fan. They were up for Rock ‘N Roll Hall of Fame induction last year. I’m not sure if they’ll ever make it. But they have always produced great albums which hardcore fans identify with. If I could ever see them in concert, I’ll sign. Now that I’ve seen Axl and Slash together again sharing a stage with Duff for the Guns N’ Roses tour, anything’s possible. I really should post some of the video footage I took one of these days at Met Life Stadium.

As for Reznor, I never realized or maybe forgot that he did an MTV Unplugged of “Hurt.” This is a zillion times better than the link of the studio version I included in the last entry. Take a listen. Feel every word he delivers because it’s done with emotion and has so much meaning. Truly masterful.

 

 

Published by

Derek Felix

Derek Felix is sports blogger whose previous experience included two stints at ESPN as a stat researcher for NHL and WNBA telecasts. The Staten Island native also worked behind the scenes for MSG as a production assistant on New Jersey Devil games. An avid New York sports fan who enjoys covering events, writing, concerts, movies and the outdoors, Derek has scored Berkeley Carroll basketball games since 2006 and provided an outlet for the Park Slope school's student athletes. Hitting Back gives them the publicity they deserve. From players, coaches to administrators, it's a first class program. In his free time, he also attends Ranger games and is a loyal St. John's alum with a sports management degree.

Leave a Reply

