Sugar and Sweetness

chocolate

“Sugar and Sweetness”

By Derek Felix 

 

I see you everyday 

Looking so fly 

In your own fancy way

You make me want to cry 

 

I would scream your name for days

That pleasant smile 

Makes me forget about yesterday 

If only we could hang for a while 

 

I’d sweep you off your feet 

Into the picturesque blue sky

And enjoy your tasty treat 

We would spring to an eternal high

 

Into another dimension 

Your world of sugar and sweetness

As soon as you enter you got my attention 

Looking so sexy with that flavor and uniqueness 

 

It doesn’t matter what you wear 

I can’t keep my eyes off yours 

No wonder I lose my focus when you’re near

You got that glamour and allure 

 

It doesn’t matter what color you do your hair

You’re a painting like a work of art

Every one of us can’t stop but stare 

It’s like I got hit by a love dart 

 

I keep telling myself you can’t be real

Only to be wondered in amazement 

Deep down you’re the real deal 

A kindred spirit who stands adjacent 

 

Leaving me breathless 

As I fall for your sugar and sweetness

You’re like heaven God bless 

One of a kind in love and uniqueness 

 

You have the lips of an angel 

Always lighting up the place 

Igniting a spark to our table 

You’re not just another pretty face 

 

There’s more to you than that 

It’s the way you talk and move

You’re the perfect candy Kit Kat

The way you joke and groove so smooth

 

You are that fire from above 

Carefree and cool to the extreme

Spreading your wings like a golden dove

I see you well dressed like a queen 

 

Driving me into your maze 

An ocean of sugar and sweetness 

If you were weed you’d be purple haze

With Jimi Hendrix jamming about your uniqueness 

 

That pizzazz with a lot of sass 

As you float like a gentle breeze 

Smart, sexy and so much class 

Making me drop to my knees 

 

If I dreamt you 

You couldn’t be any better 

You are a star that rings true 

Taking me back to school days of love letters

 

You are a diamond who lasts forever 

I knew that the first time we met 

I want more than ever for us to be together

Don’t tease me and play hard to get 

 

I’ll fly on a jet for miles 

Landing in your world of sugar and sweetness 

Mesmerized by your beautiful styles

The one and only starlet of uniqueness

Published by

Derek Felix

Derek Felix is sports blogger whose previous experience included two stints at ESPN as a stat researcher for NHL and WNBA telecasts. The Staten Island native also worked behind the scenes for MSG as a production assistant on New Jersey Devil games. An avid New York sports fan who enjoys covering events, writing, concerts, movies and the outdoors, Derek has scored Berkeley Carroll basketball games since 2006 and provided an outlet for the Park Slope school's student athletes. Hitting Back gives them the publicity they deserve. From players, coaches to administrators, it's a first class program. In his free time, he also attends Ranger games and is a loyal St. John's alum with a sports management degree.

Leave a Reply

