“The Winter Moon”

16602974_10155686575223765_6125692877867424884_n

“The Winter Moon”

by Derek Felix 

The winter moon 

Catches my eyes at night

It mesmerizes like a golden June

Warming up the cold through its light

It gives me strength 

To believe in love 

I’m carried on by its length 

As I’m captivated by what’s above

I find myself staring at the sky

We have to look at it from a different view

Change our perspective instead of being shy

There’s a hidden message that rings true 

It can tell me things I didn’t know

Pointing me in another direction 

It appeals and reveals its inner glow

Almost warning me for protection 

I’m forever taken by what I see

Half or full it’s in full bloom 

Creating a world of fantasy 

That shall show itself soon 

I can’t describe the feeling 

Except it gives me more in colder air

I walk in the street admiring the universe’s ceiling

Erasing the pain and fear with cheer

I know you so well 

That your world is filled with sunshine 

I was always able to tell 

Painting pictures like a fancy rhyme 

I’ll see you on the other side 

And rise up slowly and open your door

You’ll greet me warmly with nothing to hide

Awaiting my arrival in your corridor

16508737_10155687519783765_3855098330409441837_n

Published by

Derek Felix

Derek Felix is sports blogger whose previous experience included two stints at ESPN as a stat researcher for NHL and WNBA telecasts. The Staten Island native also worked behind the scenes for MSG as a production assistant on New Jersey Devil games. An avid New York sports fan who enjoys covering events, writing, concerts, movies and the outdoors, Derek has scored Berkeley Carroll basketball games since 2006 and provided an outlet for the Park Slope school's student athletes. Hitting Back gives them the publicity they deserve. From players, coaches to administrators, it's a first class program. In his free time, he also attends Ranger games and is a loyal St. John's alum with a sports management degree.

Leave a Reply

