“The Hype”

purple-rain

“The Hype”

By Derek Felix AKA Flex

 

It was all about the hype 

You were it from the very beginning

Always looking fresh and ripe 

A magnet that’s always winning 

 

One of life’s jewels of the nile 

All fancy dancy in full bloom 

As you style and profile walk down that aisle

Turning days of cold gloom into warm June 

 

Cause you’re a star the one that shines 

A perfect gem that lights up the night 

Inspiring me to new heights and rhymes 

You’re like Air Jordan taking full flight 

 

I can see you rising above the rest 

Flying over the florescent sky 

You know that deep down you’re the best 

The unique one who stands so high 

 

The hype 

Is for real 

The hype 

Has always been the real deal

Someone who makes me smile 

I wish you’d stay a while 

We could sip champagne 

And dance in the purple rain 

Letting the drops touch our hair 

Living life without fear 

 

You were always the hype 

Who was in my dreams 

Your unique design so fine

When I see your laser beams 

 

Captivating me as I am left speechless 

I’m addicted to your sweet candy 

My head turns at your sight all breathless 

Searching for your vanilla chocolate all tasty

 

As you walk towards me my heart races

The pounding growing as anxiety kicks in 

Reminding me of the old school group changing faces

Just for one look I’ll take it and sip gin and win

 

You’re like the moon on the best night 

So desirable and undeniable full of glow 

Standing out like a rock star under Broadway lights

Cause damn you’re the whole show 

 

The hype 

Was all the proof

The hype 

Because you’re the truth

We can raise the roof 

Till the crack of dawn

We can soar to new heights 

And enjoy the midnight sky 

Your the hype of love 

I never questioned why

Published by

Derek Felix

Derek Felix is sports blogger whose previous experience included two stints at ESPN as a stat researcher for NHL and WNBA telecasts. The Staten Island native also worked behind the scenes for MSG as a production assistant on New Jersey Devil games. An avid New York sports fan who enjoys covering events, writing, concerts, movies and the outdoors, Derek has scored Berkeley Carroll basketball games since 2006 and provided an outlet for the Park Slope school's student athletes. Hitting Back gives them the publicity they deserve. From players, coaches to administrators, it's a first class program. In his free time, he also attends Ranger games and is a loyal St. John's alum with a sports management degree.

Leave a Reply

